Re: NaNoWriMo

Well, I participated in NaNoWrimo using the novel I’d planned out earlier this year. It’s one of my running projects, Metaphysical Graffiti. I used Michael Stackpole’s 21 days to a Novel process to create character backgrounds and an outline. And it helped. I could just dive right into writing the book, and found that because I knew where I was going, I had an easier time getting to my goal. So, day by day, bit by bit, every chance I could I added to my word count. Until this happened:

NaNo-2015-Winner-Badge-Large-Square

I honestly thought it wouldn’t be possible: that I wrote to slowly and got too distracted. But thanks to my fiancee’s support, and a lot of backing from my writer’s group, I found this a much easier journey than past years. And I found myself adding scenes to the outline, creating new bridges to see where they’d take me.

Will I finish? Yes, I am going to keep plugging away at this. But now I’ll also be able to dedicate some time to short stories and flash fiction as well. I’ve had at least two ideas show up while writing this and I don’t want to leave them on the shelf.

I’ll be back to the word mines soon enough. But for now, I think I’ll take a day off. ^_^

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

