August and Ever After

August was a long, and yet short, month. Personal items kept me from updating this blog and reviewing some of the thoughts I dredged up at the end of July.  It was one of those months when I said, “Aside from a compulsion, why am I doing this? Why am I trying?”

The answer is this: I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t write, and I didn’t try to get something published.  So, I’m not going to stop.  Now, I know what you’re thinking:

tumblr_nrvljcp6pg1qfg925o1_500
And you might be right. But I think, despite it all, I’ve gotten a bit accomplished:

  • I have a signed contract for publication in an on-line magazine (No date yet, but it is a paying gig)
  • I actually made it to the second round of review for a very high profile magazine with one of my short stories
  • I’ve completed Michael Stackpole’s 21 Days to a Novel course and generated a rough outline for Metaphysical Graffiti
  • I edited and posted a third of Ivre – and I’ve got at least one person who wants to read it.
  • I’ve been regularly writing and submitting flash fiction and short stories.

But I still have goals for this year:

  • I’m going to complete editing and writing Ivre, or whatever it ends up being called.
  • I’m going to have the outline for Metaphysical Graffiti in final form for November
  • I’m going to actually try to write like a madman in November
  • I’m going to write, revise and submit a story to the open call for Alien Artifacts & Were – two Kickstarter Anthologies – a great project to fund as well
  • I’m going to keep submitting stories until I run out of markets.

Now, to just deal with my crippling social anxiety that turns every attempt at networking into a massive impostor syndrome assault. Or, put it simply:

tymv45k73niqjbghybew

2 Comments

  1. Hey! Hope you don’t mind me leaving a comment. I read your story on DailySf today and enjoyed it, so I ended up here to enjoy some more of your writing. Just wanted to say hi and thank you for your work (and for making so much of it available here!); by the way, your life plan does seem sound to me… best of luck! ;)

    • Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, i really appreciate it! And I’m glad you enjoyed Mirror Man. Hope I’ll be able to show more in the future.

      Welcome!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

