Grand Advice and A Few Thoughts: CapClave 2013

I have a lot of excellent notes to transcribe from this year’s CapClave. Excellent programming all around – it was not until the “I’m still somewhat hungover” end of Sunday the panels became quiet. Never in all my time at conferences have I seen a panel member jump up and say “No! No! No! and No!” when fish was brought up in a cryptozoology discussion.

Writing-wise, my big take away are two websites: duotrope.com and Querytrack.net – good resources. I added a ton of interesting notes and ideas. And I have many books now signed, including delighting George R. R. Martin by bringing along my BlueJay press edition of Nightfliers.

But the big note for me was this: fandom is still a lot of fun, but just not in the public ‘look – manatees!’ way anymore. Manatee moments are kept quiet. Or monetized.

And the quote of the conference comes from Kathryn Morrow, regarding how to deal with narrow-minded anti-inclusive tendencies: “Keep fighting. Eventually they will all die.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

