Rethinking Shannon

I’m at a little spot in DC, on the corner of Fifth and K Street called Busboys and Poets. Having secured a two person table by the door, I ordered a bowl of shrimp and grits, and thought of Shannon.

Shannon being one of the characters from Metaphysical Graffiti. I had her set a certain way in my mind when I first started outlining the book, but bit by bit she changed under me. I started scribbling notes, altering her background in pretty vital ways. I think I will need to scrap large chunks of the outline and start again.

I suppose this happens to everyone. Creative endeavors shift under you, like a sidewalk pushed up and broken by tree roots under the cement. I guess only time will show if the tree ripping up my sidewalk bears fruit, or rots away.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

